The Country
 
 
President
JOSÉ EDUARDO DOS SANTOS, the President of the Republic of Angola, born 28 August 1942, to Eduardo Avelino dos Santos and Jacinta José Paulino. He is married with Ana Paula dos Santos. Mr. Santos completed his secondary education in Luanda (Lyceum Salvador Correia) and joined MPLA in November 1961 while in exile. In 1969 he graduated from the Institute of Petroleum and Gas of Baku (former Soviet Union) with diploma in Petrochemical Engineering.  
 

After returning to the country he became the Minister of External Relations of the first Government after the Independence of Angola, the 2nd Vice - Prime Minister in 1978 and the Minister of Planning in 1978-79. He was elected the President of MPLA on the 20th September 1979 and became the President of the People’s Republic of Angola until presidential elections in October 1992, where he won the first round with 49.6% of votes.

The first attempts to create objective and subjective conditions to launch profound economic and political reforms date back to the early 80’s, with support of young professionals from the faculties of Engineering, Law and Economy. The war did not allow rapid implementation of these reforms. Agreements of Bicesse established after this openness allowed an interregnum in military conflict and created conditions to institute a democratic regime and an open market.

One relevant fact in the beginning of his career in power was that Mr. José Eduardo dos Santos has never ratified any death sentence passed by the courts during the time when it was still legal in the country, and decisively contributed to the abolishment of death sentence in Angola.

From 1986 to 1992 José Eduardo dos Santos has been behind the efforts of peace in the country and in the region, which culminated with the withdrawal of South African occupational forces, repatriation of Cuban troops, independence of Namibia and the end of the apartheid regime in the South Africa.

With elimination of external factors aggravating internal conflict in Angola, José Eduardo dos Santos established bridges to a negotiated solution, motivated opening towards political pluralism and market economy and organised democratic multi-party elections (29-30 September 1992) under international supervision.

During the severe crisis that followed after UNITA’s rejection of UN verdict about “free and fair” elections, José Eduardo dos Santos personally directed intense diplomatic activity that resulted in complete international recognition of Angolan Government, gave an impulse to establishment of elected organs of sovereignty and defended democratic institutions by forcing the opposition to accept negotiated solution of the conflict, sealed by the Agreements of Lusaka in November1994.

These Agreements served as basis for creation of the Government of National Unity and Reconciliation with participation of members from the parties with seats in the national Parliament, including the armed opposition.

Unfortunately, the Agreements of Lusaka did not bring a definite peace to Angola. In 1998 the rebel forces reverted to war after undergoing the secret rearmament, being convinced that they could have taken the Power by military means.

Time and again José Eduardo dos Santos has shown his qualities of a statesman at the peak of a delicate moment for entire country. He decided to fight the armed threat without resorting to declaration of martial law or the state of emergency, maintaining all democratic institutions of the country in operation, in order to secure the rights, freedoms and guaranties of the citizens.

The United Nations Organisation congratulated him, on 29th July 2000, for his announcement of pardon to all armed rebels, including their leader, as long as they would have recognised the legitimate power and contributed to the consolidation of democratic regime, to the national reconciliation and development of the country.

Two years later, thanks to the implementation of a multilateral program of national resistance to war, started by the initiative of the President of Angola, military commanders of the Government had finally reached the truce with the armed rebel forces, effectively leading to an end of war through an act celebrated in a solemn ceremony in Luanda, on the 4th April 2002.

During the same period of time Angolan President decisively contributed to the stabilisation of situation in the Republic of Congo/Brazzaville and the Democratic Republic of Congo and to a political solution to a military conflict in the Great Lakes region.

 
 
Geography
 

Geographical coordinates
The Republic of Angola is situated in the southern part of the West coast
of the African Continent

Latitude North -04°22`G /South-18°02`G.
Longitude East -24°05`E.G / West -11°41`E.G
Area 1,246,700 km2
Atlantic coastline 1.650 Km
Land borders 4.837 Km
North Republic of Congo and Democratic Republic of Congo
East Democratic Republic o Congo and Republic of Zambia
South Republic of Namibia
East Atlantic Ocean
 
Climate

Angola has two seasons: rainy and hot season from September to May, and the dry season. The dry season, or season of draughts, is less hot and extends from May to September
There are two climatic zones from the ocean coast towards the interior of the country: the coastal region with annual relative humidity of 30% and average temperature above 23ºC, and inner region subdivided into Northern Zone, with elevated precipitation and high temperatures, High Zone, which includes mountainous central regions with dry climate and lower temperatures, and South-Eastern Zone, a semi-dry region influenced by proximity to the Namib Desert, an extension of the Kalahari Desert affected by large tropical continental airmasses.
This climatic diversity corresponds to a potential for tourism represented by the richest natural heritage with diverse animal and plant species, offering all kinds of leisure and exploration activities.
Average temperatures: maximum 27ºC, minimum 17ºC

 
Flora
Angola has five types of natural zones: dense rainforests of Maiombe containing rear types of timber, Savannas, usually mixed with forest, such as Lunda and dry Savannas with trees and bush in Luanda, lowlands of Cassanje and some areas of Lunda.
There are zones of steppes along the landstrip starting from the south of Sumbe and, finally, zones of desert occupying a narrow strip of coastal area to the extreme south of the country, where in Namib Desert we can find “Welwitschia Mirabilis”, a species unique in the world that also characterise this country.
 
Fauna
Angola has numerous animal species spread around various regions of the country. The forests of Maiombe are home to gorillas, chimpanzees and parrots; in the more humid natural zones of the North, Centre, Centre-East we can find golungo antelope, giant sable antelope, a unique species threatened by extinction, pygmy antelope and elephants. In drier regions there are species of Angolan springbok, gemsbok, or Oryx gazelle, antelope gnu, impala, cheetah and buffalo, as well as species of elephant, zebra and giraffe. The animals with common presence throughout entire territory are hyenas, red antelopes, lions, leopards and hippopotamus. Marine fauna includes an enormous variety of fish, sea and river animals, including crocodiles and alligators.
 
Main Rivers
Kwanza is the main river of Angola, 1000 km long, of which only 240 kilometres are suitable for navigation. The second largest river is Kubango with 975 km, the third is Cunene with 800 km and, finally, Zair with 150 km, fully open for navigation. The rivers of Angola offer opportunities for creation of new businesses, either of purely tourist nature or mixed type, such as commerce-tourism.
 
Mineral Resources
Angola is a country immensely rich in mineral resources. Angolan soil is said to contain 35 out of the most important 45 products of world trade, including crude oil, natural gas, diamonds, phosphates, bituminous substances, iron, copper, magnesium, gold and ornamental rocks.

 
 
History
 

Brief historical data
• Ethnicity: Bantu is the ethnic majority of the country
• Arrival of the Portuguese: 1482 (Diogo Cão)
• Political Origins: 500 year of Portuguese colonial rule (1482/1975)
• Founding of the first city (Luanda): 1605
• Date of Independence: 11 November 1975
   - 14 years of war of National Liberation (1961/1975)
• The first Government: MPLA
• The first President of the Republic: Agostinho Neto (1975-1979)
• Inauguration of José Eduardo dos Santos: 21 September 1979
• Protocol of Bicesse: 31 May 1991
• First free elections: September 1992
• Protocol of Lusaka: 20 November 1994
• Inauguration of the GRNU: 11 April 1997
• 2nd legislative election won by MPLA with 81 percent of the votes: 5 September 2008

 
 
 
Demographic Data
 
Population
Angola has population of 16,000,000 inhabitants (49,3% male, 50,7% female), which consists of several peoples, ethnic groups and cultures speaking various languages. Portuguese is the Official Language of Angola.
 

Official Language
Official Language of Angola is Portuguese.
Main national languages
Umbundu, Kimbundu, Kikongo, Cokwe, Fiote, Kwanyama.

Religions
Catholics 51%; Protestants 17%; Traditional religions (Animist) 30%; Other 2%.

 
Political and Administrative Organisation
The multi-party democracy has been established in 1992; the same year when the first democratic elections had taken place. The Constitution establishes a semi-presidential system with the following State organs: The President of the Republic, the National Assembly, the Government with a 5-year mandate, and Courts.
 
Political and Administrative Division
18 Provinces, 163 Municipalities, 475 Communes.
 
 
 
Consulado
 
Country
 
Business and Investment
 
Visa
 
 
Links
 
Boletim Informativo Digital

 

 

 

     
Copyright © 2009 Consulado Geral da República de Angola, Região Administrativa Especial de Macau

關於安哥拉
 
 
總統
 
安哥拉現任總統為若澤‧愛德華多‧多斯桑托斯
(Jose Eduardo Dos Santos),他出生於1942年8月28日,是愛德華多‧艾維利諾‧多斯桑托斯及哈辛塔‧若澤‧波利諾的兒子。他的配偶是安娜‧波拉‧多斯桑托斯。多斯桑托斯先生在羅安達國立薩爾瓦多‧科雷亞中學完成中學學業,於1961被流放期間加入安哥拉人民解放運動|
(MPLA)。1969年,他畢業於巴庫石油及天然氣研究所(位於前蘇聯加盟共和國阿塞拜疆首都巴庫),獲石化工程碩士文憑。
 
 

回國後,他在1978年成為安哥拉獨立後首任政府對外關係部的第二副部長,接着在1978至1979年就任規劃部部長。在1979年9月20日,他被選舉為安哥拉人民解放運動主席,而於1992年10月舉行的總統選舉上他當選為安哥拉總統,那次選舉他在第一輪投票中就獲得了49.6%的選票。

多斯桑托斯創造主客觀條件去發展深度的經濟和政治改革的首次嘗試,可以追溯到80年代初,當時他得到工程、法律及經濟等學院的年輕專業人員的支持,然而戰爭不允許這次改革有立竿見影的成果。《比塞斯協議》(Agreements of Bicesse) 確立於這個容許在軍事衝突中有一個過渡的空白期之後,創造了建立民主政權及開放市場的條件。

於多斯桑托斯開始他權力生涯之初的一個關係重大的事實是,於那個死刑在安哥拉還是合法的時候,他從不批准任何來自法院的死刑判決,對這個國家最終廢除死刑作出貢獻。

從1986年至1992年,多斯桑托斯盡努力在背後去推動這個國家及整個非洲地區的和平進程。這時的非洲正日益和平起來:南非最終撤走了職業部隊、古巴軍隊撤離、納米比亞獨立而南非也結束了種族隔離制度。

阻礙安哥拉發展的外部因素消除了,內部的衝突卻加劇起來,為此,多斯桑托斯建立了通過談判解決問題的橋樑,並且積極地開放多元政治和市場經濟,以及在國際監督下於1992年9月29-30進行了多黨制民主選舉。

隨着聯合國安理會對上述自由和公平選舉的反對判決而引致的嚴重危機中,多斯桑托斯為獲得國際的廣泛認同,他個人地進行了密集的外交活動,給予選舉產生的權力機構得以成立的推動力,以及迫使反對派接受談判解決衝突以捍衛民主體制, 1994年11月確立的《盧薩卡協議》將上述使命達成。以此一協議為基礎,去建立一個國家統一及民族和平共處的政府,由國會擁有議席的黨派成員參與,包括軍方反對陣營。

不幸的是,《盧薩卡協議》並未為安哥拉帶來最終的和平。1998年,在暗渡陳倉重整軍備後,叛軍再次發動戰爭,他們深信通過軍事手段可以奪取權力。

在整個國家陷入極端艱難的時期,多斯桑托斯一次又一次顯示了他作為一個政治家所具有的品質,他決定在不宣布戒嚴或實行緊急狀態的情況下對軍事威嚇進行反攻,保持一直國家得以正常運行的民主體制,確保公民的權利、自由和安全得到保障。

於2000年7月29日,聯合國組織讚揚了他,因為他發出了一份聲明,內容提到了原諒所有叛軍,包括他們的首領,只要他們肯去承認合法的權力,並為這個國家的和平及發展、對民主政權的鞏固作出貢獻。

兩年之後,由於執行民族抵抗戰爭的多邊計劃,由安哥拉總統提出倡議,政府軍隊的統領最終與叛軍力量達成停火協議,透過於2002年4月4日在羅安達舉行的一次隆重慶典,正式為戰爭劃上了休止符。

安哥拉總統果斷的處理方式,在同一時間為剛果共和國及剛果民主共和國的穩定局勢作出貢獻,並且為大湖地區提供了一個解決軍事沖突的政治方案。



 
 
地理概況
 

地理位置
安哥拉共和國位於非洲西海岸的南部

緯度 北緯 -04°22`G /南緯-18°02`G
經度 東經 -24°05`E.G / 西經 -11°41`E.G
國土面積 1,246,700 km2
大西洋海岸線 1.650 Km
邊界總長 4.837 Km
北面鄰國 剛果共和國及剛果民主共和國
東面鄰國 剛果民主共和國及贊比亞共和國
南面鄰國 納米比亞共和國
東面 大西洋
 
氣候

安哥拉有兩個季節:一個是雨季和炎熱季節,由九月到次年五月;另一個是旱季,又叫吃水季節,天氣不太熱,由五月至九月。
由海岸至內陸分為兩個氣候帶:海岸部分的年度相對濕度為30%,平均溫度大概23ºC;內陸地區又細分為幾部分:北部帶,特點是有大降水量和高溫;高原地帶,特點是包括山區及中部地帶在內的乾旱氣候和低溫;以及東南地帶,是一個受到納米布沙漠(一個卡拉哈里沙漠因受大型熱帶大陸氣團所影響而產生的延展帶)所影響的半乾旱地帶。
多樣性的氣候條件蘊藏了巨大的旅遊資源,不同種類的動植物資源豐富,提供各種休閒和探索活動。
平均溫度:最高27ºC, 最低17ºC

 
植物概況
安哥拉有五種自然區域:馬永貝高原的茂密熱帶雨林,包括不同種類的林木;稀樹熱帶草原,通常還混雜着森林,例如羅安達的樹木;灌木乾草原;干辛耶的低地;隆達的某些地區。
沿着陸地帶的草原,從松貝的南面直抵國家的最南端,佔據了整個狹長的海峽地區;在納米布沙漠中我們可以找到“百歲蘭”,這個世界上獨有的物種同時亦代表這個國家。
 
物動概況
大量動物物種遍佈於安哥拉整個國家,馬永貝高原的森林住着大猩猩,黑猩猩和鸚鵡,在較為濕潤的自然區的北部、中部和中部偏東的地方,我們可以找到那些受到侏儒羚羊和大象的滅絕威脅的哥隆哥羚羊和貂皮大羚羊。
在較為乾燥的地區有稀有的安哥拉羚羊、大羚羊等種屬的羚羊,以及獵豹、水牛,還有大
象、斑馬和長頸鹿。那些普遍存在於整個領土的動物則有土狼、紅毛羚羊、獅子、豹子和
河馬。
海洋動物包括種量繁多的魚類,河湖動物則有鱷魚和短吻鱷等。
 
主要河流
寬扎河是安哥拉的主要河流,全長1000公里,但只有其中240公里適合航行。第二大河是全長975公里的庫邦戈河,第三大河是800公里的寬內河,還有150公里的扎伊爾河,全部都可以航行。
安哥拉的河流提供了機會去創造新的商業,無論是單純的自然旅遊或者是混合適的旅遊活動,例如商務旅遊等。
 
礦產資源

安哥拉是一個蘊含豐富礦產的國家。安哥拉的土地據說包含了世界貿易中最重要45個產品中的35個,包括原油、天然氣、鑽石、磷酸鹽、瀝青物質、鐵、銅、鎂、黃金和觀賞岩石。

 
 
歷史概述
 

簡要歷史資料
• 種族:班圖族是這個國家的主要民族
• 葡萄牙人的到達:1482年(迪奧戈‧干)
• 政治沿革:500年葡萄牙的殖民統治(1482年至1975年)
• 所創建的第一座城市(羅安達):1605年
• 獨立日:1975年11月11日,經過了14年的民族解放戰爭(1961-1975)
• 第一個政府:安哥拉人民解放運動(MPLA)
• 共和國第一任總統:阿戈斯蒂紐‧內圖(1975-1979)
• 若澤‧愛德華多‧多斯桑托斯就任於:1979年9月21日
• 《比塞斯協議》(Agreements of Bicesse)發佈於:1991年5月31
• 第一次自由選舉:1992年9月
• 盧薩卡議定書發佈於:1994年11月20
• GRNU就任於:1997年4月11
• 第二屆立法選舉贏得MPLA的81%票

 
 
 
人口數據
 
人口
安哥拉全國有1,600萬人口(49.3%為男性,50.7%為女性),當中包括了多個種族和族群,有不同文化和使用多種語言。安哥拉的官方語言是葡萄牙語。
 

語言概況
葡萄牙是安哥拉的官方語言
主要民族語言
包括奧溫本杜語、金本杜語、剛果語、柯威語等。

宗教信仰
天主教51%;新教17%;傳統宗教(泛神論)30%;其他2%

 
政治及行政組織
民主多黨制政治於1992年確立,同年第一次民主選舉成功舉行。國家憲法確立了半總統制與下列國家機關:共和國總統、國家議會、五年任期的政府以及法院。
 
政治及行政劃分
18個省
163個城市
475個鎮
 
 
Consulado
 
Country
 
Business and Investment
 
Visa
 
 
Links
 
Boletim Informativo Digital

 

 

 

     
Copyright © Consulado Geral da República de Angola, Região Administrativa Especial de Macau